Injury Woes Deny Mora Basketball Progress at INFINI 2012, Bangalore, India
Written by info upload    Monday, 02 April 2012 12:23    PDF Print Email
(1 vote)




Men’s basketball team of University of Moratuwa (UoM) suffered an uncharacteristic exit during the quarterfinals at INFINI 2012. The visitors were beaten by Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology (Sir MVIT), Bangalore for 34 to 28.

The INFINI 2012 sports fest was organized by the People’s Education Society Institute of Technology (PESIT) and School of Engineering (PESSE) from 20th to 23rd March in PESIT premises, Bangalore, India. The fest hosted 5 sporting events, badminton, basketball, cricket, football and volleyball and saw the participation of UoM sportsmen and women, except for football.

During the quarterfinals, UoM were neck-and-neck with MVIT up until the 3rd quarter of the game. But MVIT made the most out of the final quarter. Nuwan Prabath, the captain of the UoM led by the front, scoring most of the 28 points.

Visitors found it hard to adapt to the climate and humidity of Bangalore and this drew the thin line between winners and losers during the final quarter. And the loss of the Point guard (due to a knee injury.), Chamath Keshara proved to be very expensive as Mora ran out of competent substitutes to finish the game off.

Mora started off the tournament on a high note defeating the hosts PESSE by 31 to 16. Saketha Uthpala Sumanaratne, Nuwan Prabath and Prashan Manuja Liyanage did the bulk of the scoring while Supun De Silva and Sachithra Pramuditha gave their fullest support to ensure the victory.

Jain University, Bangalore emerged champions at the basketball leg of INFINI 2012, marking the end of three days full of excitement, joy and sportsmanship. UoM was a highlight at the sports fest for their exceptional performance in sports and spirit. For Mora basketball, it was not the best start for their 2012 season, but it was a worthwhile international experience which glued the team together. 

-By Niranda Perera 

Add a comment
Mora Invitational Basketball tournament 2011
Written by Editor    Thursday, 19 May 2011 16:41    PDF Print Email
(4 votes)


There was nothing but magic in the New Gymnasium of the University of Moratuwa over the weekend of the 14th and 15th of May 2011. It was where the new champions of the of the ‘Mora Invitational Basketball tournament’ for the year 2011 were crowned. The University of Moratuwa men’s team, captained by Uthpala Sumanarathna outlasted all other opponents to reach the pinnacle of the tournament and stand victorious at the end of it all. 
The Mora Invitational Basketball Tournament was organized by the basketball team in collaboration with the department of Physical Education of the University of Moratuwa. It was organized for the fourth consecutive year. The tournament was a platform for some of the best teams in the university arena and other higher educational institutes to come together and compete with each other and put on a show to all the enthusiastic sports lovers of the university community. It was indeed a spectacle to behold.
The final battle for championship  glory was intense, awe inspiring and jaw dropping all at the same time and it took a lot out of both teams who took the game right down to the wire. At the end, the team that prevailed and made the final gallop was the University of Moratuwa who posted 87 points on the board as opposed to the tally of 78 by the visitors.
The consolation final was between the University of Kelaniya and the University of Colombo. Both teams had good performances in the earlier round before eventually losing out to the finalists. If this tournament was any indication, both teams are in for a great season ahead showing a lot of promise and potential. The clash in the consolation finals was no disappointment either. At the end it was the University of Kelaniya team that pulled through with the victory to secure third place. Earlier in the semi finals, a gutsy ACBT team was able to pull off a rabbit out of the hat by defeating a formidable University of Kelaniya team while suffering from a shortage of players on the court due to injuries. They were indomitable and willed their way through to the victory of the game, at the end of which earned them a standing ovation by everyone in the arena.
The tournament kicked off on Saturday and showed great promise with some good basketball action in the first round itself. In the end it was an early exit to tournament first timers IIT and the defending champions, Old Mora. ACBT and University of Moratuwa were the only teams that were undefeated at the end of the first round.
In the women’s category it was an all Mora affair for the title as Old Mora battled the University of Moratuwa women’s team for the championship. The game had its moments, but at the end it was comprehensively won by the University of Moratuwa women’s team.
The closing ceremony was held Sunday night and was graced with the presence of chief guest Prof. J.M.S.J. Bandara, Senior lecturer of the Department of Civil Engineering and former captain of the University of Moratuwa basketball team. Also present on the occasion was Director of Physical Education of the University of Moratuwa Mr. K.R.D.C. Rathnamudali. 
Article by Faheem Jamaldeen


Add a comment
Last Updated ( Thursday, 19 May 2011 17:13 )
History and Records of Mora Basket Ball
Written by Editor    Monday, 21 September 2009 06:39    PDF Print Email
(1 vote)

Outstanding performances of Mora Basket Ball in the past


  • Champions at the Inter-University Basket-Ball Championships
  • Semi-finalists at the INFINI sports festival 08, held at PESIT, Bangalore, India
  • Champions at the Mora Invitation Basket Ball tournament


  • Runners-Up at the Inter-University Championships....


  • 2nd Runners-Up at the Inter-University Championships
  • 2nd Runners-Up at the Inter-University Championships
  • Inter University Champions

Past Captains

2009 - Gamitha de Silva

2008 - Manoj Priyantha.

2007 - Malaka Jayasingha.

2006 - Chathuranga Amerasekara.

2005 - Chandika Weragama.

2004 - Hirantha Jayakodi.

2003 - Eranga Weerasingha.

Add a comment
Last Updated ( Monday, 21 September 2009 07:56 )